The Gift

To state it frankly: I’m quite sure that I frequently miss out on recognizing God’s gifts.

It could be because I’m not looking–
my foot pressing hard on the pedal, driving past life on the fast track; starspeed ahead.

It could be because I’m not thankful–
living in the worries, dismissing blessings as inconveniences; selfish.

Or it could be because of poor timing–
one blink of the eye, one turn of the head, and boom! Gift missed.

A gift that would have caused shivers to run up and down my arms.
A gift that would remind me I am not forgotten.
A gift that would inspire me to write a blog.

I know I’ve missed a zillion of these moments.

But I also know that my busy, ungrateful, fleshly being does not stop God from continuing to give.
While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. 

He left all His glory and splendor so that we can abide in Him and He in us.
Who, being in very nature God,
    did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage; 

 rather, he made himself nothing
    by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.

And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself
    by becoming obedient to death—even death on a cross! 

How much more proof do I need?

For by grace you have been saved through faith; not of yourselves: it is the gift of God.
Even my faith He has gifted to me!

Yes, I am a firm believer that my God loves to give good gifts to His children.
It’s indeed a historical fact: regardless of what I do, my God loves to love me.

He loves to delight over me in singing- gifting me with his Power and Joy.
He loves to draw near to me- gifting me with his Spirit and Comfort.

And because He made me, He knows me inside and out.
He knows what makes me tick.
He knows what makes my heart beat a littler faster.

Because of this, He also knows how to show-off and impress me.
Now, allow me impress you with the story…

When I first arrived in Istanbul, people told me to be on the lookout for dolphins.
Dolphins in Istanbul? Istanbul is divided by the Bosphorus Strait, so in over to get from one side of the city to the other, we take ferries across it multiple times each day.

Because of my frequent crossings, it makes sense to think that I should have sighted dolphins by now, right? Much to my disappointment, literally everybody I know has seen them, EXCEPT ME.

I’d nearly given up all hope, yet not entirely.

The other day, I made my way up to the top deck of the ferry, just like I had hundreds of times before. However, as I found my seat, I flippantly thought to myself “maybe today is the day”…

Barging across the blue Bosphorus never gets old. I closed my eyes, breathing in the salty sprays that were carried by the winds tangling through my hair.

Then, it was almost like a command: “Kimmy, open your eyes or you’ll miss the dolphins!”

The very instant I opened my eyes, two dolphins, side-by-side, quickly leaped through a wave and then even more quickly, they disappeared.

Perfect timing.

Amazed and astonished, I looked around; did anyone else see that??? By the apathetic faces around me, I realized that nobody had.

Those dolphins were meant for me.

I closed my eyes again, receiving his love, sending a prayer of thanks into the sunbeams hitting my face.

Smiling.
Knowing.

God didn’t let me miss out on this gift.

A gift that caused shivers to run up and down my arms.
A gift that reminded me I am not forgotten.
A gift that inspired this blog.

Leave a Reply

