Ew.

Dried dates have become somewhat of a dessert food for me. Especially Iranian dried dates. MmmmMmm they are so delicious. Every time I pass buy our nut stand man, he greets me in such a friendly manner that I give-in and end up leaving with a small packet containing my favorite dried fruit. They come in handy as a reward during study breaks or after coming home from a long day at work. One bite into that caramel-like, fiber-filled treat and my taste buds are flying high! Makes me regret passing up an opportunity to try date-shakes passing through Palm Dessert one time in college…

Anyways, today after a long morning of Turkish, it seemed fitting to reward ourselves with dates. I had heard stories of people finding bugs and whatnot in fruit here, but despite the warnings, we tend to keep doing what we do until something bad actually happens to us, right? I’m not going to let skeptical fear get between me and my dried dates.

I grabbed a handful and sat down to enjoy the gooey texture and savory flavor.

An aspect I appreciate about dates is that one can’t just pop them in nonchalantly; there are hard pits in the middle which forces one to take one’s time in taking a bite, removing the obstacle, then proceeding to nibble on the rest. It’s slow. I love that even dried dates follow my yavaş yavaş motto.

So as I was slowly eating my dates, I took my time to look down as I removed the pit. This was both a good choice and a bad choice. It was a good choice because I stopped myself from what I almost ate; it was a bad choice because now I know. Now I know that little white grubworms like to live inside my dried dates.

Ew.

I don’t know exactly what this means. Will I continue my affair? Or do I allow this one occasion to ruin my love for dried dates? Maybe we just need a break… though it will take a lot for me to forget the image of a happy little worm wiggling inside my date. Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

